Top 10 MI Versus CSK Matches: A Fierce Rivalry

upcoming matches ipl

There is a well-known test competition between Australia and England called the ashes series. Other clubs in the Indian Premier League have fierce rivalries with one another, similar to the one that exists between the Chennai Super Kings and the Mumbai Indians. Many are waiting for upcoming matches ipl, but most importantly many are waiting for Mi vs Csk. Every match between these two teams is a visual feast since it is considered to be the “El Classico” of cricket.

  • 2019 final –

When compared to the thrill of today’s game, all of the prior IPL championship matches pale in comparison. The two teams who have won the Indian Premier League each of the previous four years will compete against one other. After successfully defending his position at the crease, Rohit Sharma elected to bat first. His team had achieved 149 runs before losing eight wickets. No one was able to get a perfect score of 50. The Chennai Super Kings Shane Watson scored 80 runs with his bat (59). After Malinga claimed the wicket of Shardul Thakur, CSK needed two runs off the final ball in order to win the match. As a result, Mumbai was able to take home their fourth title after having some good luck on their side.

  • 2010 final –

These two teams faced each other for the very first time in the IPL championship match. CSK triumphed against RR by a score of 22 runs to take first place in the match and the prize. Suresh Raina’s score of 57 off 35 balls was a significant boost to their team’s final score of 168/5. Although Tendulkar had a batting average of 48 out of 25, it was not enough to help India win.

  • 2012 Eliminator

That evening, a tense playoff game was played in Chinnaswamy stadium, and it did not disappoint. While batting first, CSK amassed a total of 187 runs. MS Dhoni was the real star of the evening. As a result of his flawless 51(20) and three receptions at the end of the game, he was awarded the distinction of player of the match. Nobody from Michigan had a batting average of 40 or better, and that included the pitchers.

  • 2015 final match

After winning the toss, MS Dhoni was the one to take the opening ball. It was a captain’s innings for Rohit Sharma, as he scored 50 runs off just 26 balls. Likewise, Lendl Simmons got a 68. Overall, Michigan scored 202 runs in their contest. Chennai had scored 161 runs before the end of the 20 overs, which was a very significant deficit in comparison to the number of runs necessary to win. The CSK batting order was not able to perform to its potential despite the difficulty of the situation.

  • 2021 group match –

The conclusion of this group stage competition was a complete nail-biter. They were given the option to bat first, and CSK took advantage of it by scoring 218 runs. In this game, Ambati Rayudu got 72 runs. A score of 50 was achieved by both DuPlessis and Moeen Ali. MI won by the slimmest of margins with Kieron Pollard guiding them to victory with the last ball. Pollard scored 87 runs while avoiding getting struck by any of the 34 balls he faced. When Faf bowled him in the 18th over, he got the break he needed thanks to the luck of the draw.

  • 2014 Eliminator –

In the playoffs, Chennai was almost always the favorite to emerge victorious. A remarkable pace of scoring was achieved by Suresh Raina, who scored 54 runs off just 33 balls. CSK successfully chased down MI’s score of 173 and won the match with 176 runs of their own in the 19th over.

  • 2008 league match –

Harbhajan Singh, the captain of the MI team, came out on top in the coin toss and made the decision to bowl first. CSK was unable to win the match after amassing 208 runs and losing five wickets. Matthew Hayden was the most valuable player in the game according to his score of 81 points (46). Raina also contributed a speedy 53 to the total. CSK won the match with a score of 206 runs to 202 runs scored by MI in their 20 overs. Abhishek Nayyar was MI’s leading scorer with 48 runs.

  • 2022 league stage match –

Unfortunately, El Classico came back for another season in this show. After winning in the coin toss, MSD made the decision to bowl first. Tilak Varma scored fifty runs at the plate, which contributed to MI’s total of 155 runs. The win was assured for CSK thanks to Dhoni’s spectacular finish off the final ball. Mukesh Chaudhary was successful in claiming three wickets. The sight of Dhoni scoring the winning runs for Chennai Super Kings in their triumph over Mumbai in Mumbai was a pleasant surprise.

  • 2018 group match –

In their first match back after a sabbatical of two years, CSK squared off against MI. The team from Chennai wanted to prevail in the contest by all means available to them. It is true that they were victorious in the stressful penultimate round of the game. MI finished their innings with 165 runs scored, but CSK’s batting line was unable to produce any runs after just 10 overs were bowled. Although Dwayne Bravo scored 68 runs and was the game’s standout performance, the game was won by Kedar Jadhav with a four that he hit.

  • 2019 Qualifier –

These two teams was faced each other once more in the playoffs. In a departure from their typical pattern, MI emerged victorious in this match. CSK batted first and ended up scoring just 131 runs, which was much below what was anticipated. Suryakumar Yadav put on a solo show for MI by blasting 71 runs off of 54 balls while staying not out. MI had a hard time catching up, but Suryakumar Yadav’s brilliance helped.